Monday, December 6, 2010

EARTH Reveals Details About New Album

EARTH have completed  their highly anticipated upcoming full-length album, which has been a subject of  much discussion over the past two years. Following the band's magnificent  2008-released The Bees Made Honey In  The Lion's Skull opus, the next chapter  in the ongoing EARTH legacy is ready for public consumption. To see release via  Southern Lord Recordings in February 2011, the recently completed new album has  been titled Angels Of Darkness, Demons Of Light 1, and promises to be a  brand new entity within EARTH's already impressive and constantly progressing  lineage.

Joining founding  guitarist and band frontman Dylan Carlson and percussionist Adrienne Davies, the  album lineup this time around also includes cellist Lori Goldston (Nirvana,  David Byrne, Black Cat Orchestra, Laura Veirs) and Karl Blau (K Records, Laura  Veirs, Microphones) on electric bass.

Returning to Seattle's Avast Studios in April and July of 2010 to again work with producer  Stuart Hallerman (Soundgarden, Mudhoney, Built To Spill, and Earth2), EARTH's newest  masterpiece shows the band continuing to expand on the Americana  themes represented on The  Bees Made Honey In The Lion's Skull, and even their incredible 2005 album Hex  (Or Printing The Infernal Method), taking their sound into broad new  directions.

Citing inspiration from  British folk-rock bands the Pentangle and Fairport Convention, as well as North  African Tuareg band Tinariwen this time around, while still maintaining the  thunderous, organic heaviness of previous EARTH releases, the material on Angels Of Darkness, Demons Of Light 1 is  more fluid and melodically oriented in nature, relying on more textured patterns and a greater emphasis on improvisational songwriting tactics. This, as well  as the inclusion of cello and other experimentations from the musicians involved, culminate into some unforgettable new hymns.

The album was mastered by Mell Dettmer, who also remastered the recent re-release of EARTH's first recordings in the form of A  Bureaucratic Desire For Extra Capsular Extraction, released by Southern Lord  in late October.

Angels Of Darkness,  Demons Of Light 1
Track  Listing:
1. Old  Black
2. Father  Midnight
3. Descent To The  Zenith
4. Hella's  Winter
5. Angels Of  Darkness, Demons Of Light 1

No comments: